• Can't post after logging to the forum for the first time... Try Again - If you can't post in the forum, sign out of both the membership site and the forum and log in again. Make sure your COG membership is active and your browser allow cookies. If you still can't post, contact the COG IT guy at IT@Concours.org.
  • IF YOU GET 404 ERROR: This may be due to using a link in a post from prior to the web migration. Content was brought over from the old forum as is, but the links may be in error. If the link contains "cog-online.org" it is an old link and will not work.

Anyone ridden on both Roadsmart 3's and Pilot 5's or 5 GT's?

KretonsLC

New sneaker time rolling around before too long so I'm wondering whether to get another pair of RS 3's or perhaps try the new Pilot 5 GT's.  The Pilot's look good and I've had plenty of experience with 2's and 4's, but I've been very happy with my RS 3's in terms of handling, wear, and handling rain. 

Has anyone had both of these tires and have a preference?  The Michelins are $100 more, so they'd have to be noticeably superior to lure me away from the Dunlops.

First, I don't have a C14.  But I have ridden on the RS3's through two sets, and briefly on the Pilot 5s.

The Dunlops were a good tire.  I'll probably go back to them on the next set of tires.  The Continental RA3s I put on last summer were incredible for confidence in corners.  Both with rebates were considerably less expensive than the Pilot 5. 

When I rode my friend's bike (same as mine), I didn't feel anything magical about the Pilot 5s.  In fact, I really didn't like the feel at all.  Was it the tires?  Or suspension settings?  Not sure, but I didn't find the feel something to write home about.

I think the Pilot 5s are good tires.  But I also think there are not that much of a difference between any of the top rated tires.

Chris