• Can't post after logging to the forum for the first time... Try Again - If you can't post in the forum, sign out of both the membership site and the forum and log in again. Make sure your COG membership is active and your browser allow cookies. If you still can't post, contact the COG IT guy at IT@Concours.org.
  • IF YOU GET 404 ERROR: This may be due to using a link in a post from prior to the web migration. Content was brought over from the old forum as is, but the links may be in error. If the link contains "cog-online.org" it is an old link and will not work.

Coolant cocktail - a more efficient cooling system.

Steve in sunny Fla

Iron Butt
Industry Vendor
    Yesterday I received an email from someone in Arizona asking about lowering the fan switch temp to help his bike run at lower temps. I think he was surprised by the answer, and I wanted to share it with everyone.

I am a professional mechanic in Florida. I specialized for decades in rebuilding automotive engines, and almost all of the engines I rebuilt were originally victims of overheating. As such, I studied up on how cooling systems work. I found along the way that most folks (read :nobody except engineers) really don't understand how the cooling systems work. I learned a very effective modification a couple decades ago, that I currently use in every vehicle I have, and I never have heat issues. Ever.

Let me also say that what I'm going to share is not new to this forum. I shared this back in '05 with the c-10 guys, and if you ask the c-10 guys who have been around, this has been nicknamed "Steve's coolant cocktail". So this isn't new, just maybe new to you  ;).

First, let's get a few things out of the way with some education.

1) All a cooling system is doing is transferring BTU's from the engine to the ambient air. The more efficient that transfer is, the better the system will shed heat.

2) Coolant is very poor at heat transfer. Water is the most effective.