• Can't post after logging to the forum for the first time... Try Again - If you can't post in the forum, sign out of both the membership site and the forum and log in again. Make sure your COG membership is active and your browser allow cookies. If you still can't post, contact the COG IT guy at IT@Concours.org.
  • IF YOU GET 404 ERROR: This may be due to using a link in a post from prior to the web migration. Content was brought over from the old forum as is, but the links may be in error. If the link contains "cog-online.org" it is an old link and will not work.

Final drive incontinence and a ray of sunshine:)

Smokeyjoe

Beads of fear induced sweat gathered on my brow as I gazed upon the oil dripping to the floor. My 2011 C14 w/65k was bleeding 75/90wt.
Pull the wheel off and found weeping from under the bevel gear plate. Read the shop manual...I have been wrenching for many years but the section on "final backlash check" gave me pause.
This is the long way to say thank you to Ted and all the other brothers who mentioned ebay as an option! Cheers and thanks:)
Jack

Reactions: Bud
Yes - I bought a spare FD off EBay (cheap) shortly after I bought my used, low mileage '08 a few years ago.

Good insurance - my original FD is doing just fine.

Pretty certain it will, differences in 08+09 to the 2010 and newer versions were mostly heat midigation issues so bodywork was changed. There were some additional changes like seats, eliminating the top storage on the tank, linking brakes.. engine, trans and drivetrain are all the same..

Here's an interesting one for the C14 crew at large. Bear in mind this isn't my first rodeo with final drives on shaft bikes; I know most of the failure points associated with other brands/models: