• Can't post after logging to the forum for the first time... Try Again - If you can't post in the forum, sign out of both the membership site and the forum and log in again. Make sure your COG membership is active and your browser allow cookies. If you still can't post, contact the COG IT guy at IT@Concours.org.
  • IF YOU GET 404 ERROR: This may be due to using a link in a post from prior to the web migration. Content was brought over from the old forum as is, but the links may be in error. If the link contains "cog-online.org" it is an old link and will not work.

How can I tell if my C14 has been flashed already?

mrinnocent

Hi! I'm new to owning a C14, and I bought mine from a dealer so I don't know its history. I'm thinking about getting the ECU flashed, but it occurred to me it might already have been flashed.

My question: how can I tell?

I searched the forum to see If this has been answered already and found nothing, but if another thread answers this question, feel free to link it. Thanks!

Ivan stencils his and also puts a sticker on the ECU. Not certain if Steve does the similar.

Guessing only - you could get SN off the ECU and call Steve and Ivan to ask if they have in their records.

Do you have pronounced jerky on/ off throttle - that is an unmistakeable telltale of the stock ECU programming..

Shoodaben Engineering puts a sticker on the bottom with the name, date and flash installed.

Another way to tell if it's been flashed... if it feels like it has to wind up below 5000 rpm with heavy throttle, then at 5k it takes off... it's likely stock.

Steve

Ivan stencils his and also puts a sticker on the ECU. Not certain if Steve does the similar.

I will check the ECU for markings, thank you for the tip.

Do you have pronounced jerky on/ off throttle

if it feels like it has to wind up below 5000 rpm with heavy throttle, then at 5k it takes off... it's likely stock.