• Can't post after logging to the forum for the first time... Try Again - If you can't post in the forum, sign out of both the membership site and the forum and log in again. Make sure your COG membership is active and your browser allow cookies. If you still can't post, contact the COG IT guy at IT@Concours.org.
  • IF YOU GET 404 ERROR: This may be due to using a link in a post from prior to the web migration. Content was brought over from the old forum as is, but the links may be in error. If the link contains "cog-online.org" it is an old link and will not work.

New Rider - How to shift gears properly question

ramkumar999

I am new to my 08 Concours 14 and had question regarding the proper way to shift the gear on the Connie. I was looking at user manual and found the following info.

Shifting up
1st - 2nd  - 9 mph
2nd -3rd - 15 mph
3rd - 4th - 21 mph
4th - 5th - 27 mph
5th - 6th - 34 mph

These numbers dont make sense which means I have to shift a bunch of gears and be on overdrive gear in city riding., A lot of times, I am riding between 3-4-5.
I have noticed that at times, I dont have to fully engage the clutch to shift the gear., Infact I had the previous owner say that half pressing is enough and is the smoothest way to shift. What I have observed is that at times, from a full stop., when I shift from 1st to 2nd, the bike almost seems to have a jerky pickup almost like how you would feel when you down shift when in a higher RPM.
I have typically felt shifting smooth in other bikes should I wanted to get others advice on the appropriate way to ride this beast of a motor.

That chart is garbage, so disregard it. My normal shifting is usually between 4000-6000 rpm around town. Considerably higher when I am playing.

Chart I think is Minimum speed that you can shift to that gear and not have the bike die.