• Can't post after logging to the forum for the first time... Try Again - If you can't post in the forum, sign out of both the membership site and the forum and log in again. Make sure your COG membership is active and your browser allow cookies. If you still can't post, contact the COG IT guy at IT@Concours.org.
  • IF YOU GET 404 ERROR: This may be due to using a link in a post from prior to the web migration. Content was brought over from the old forum as is, but the links may be in error. If the link contains "cog-online.org" it is an old link and will not work.

Stove top knob stuck on RSS

marinick14716

2009 C14. This afternoon I went to get fuel. Turned the black stove knob all the way to the right to RSS, as I've been doing for the last three months of delightful ownership. After turning all the way to the right, to RSS, the knob would NOT come out. Tried it several times, but to no avail, turning it to OFF, then ON, then RSS several times. Would not come out.

Fortunately, the key on the fob worked just fine, and I was able to open the tank, fuel the bike, "click" it down, and remove the key. Any ideas? New batteries on both fobs. Both work just fine for starting the bike, and both will allow the knob to turn to RSS, but knob is still stuck. I guess I'm lucky I can start the bike and fuel it, but I'd rather have the knob out upon demand. Oh, well....

Nick Diaz, Middletown, MD

they get sticky I guess. First time I tried to remove the one from my 2013 in 2017...it was a no go! Finally had to get medieval on it with plastic pry tools and it came out, could have been the first time! Put a little SilGlyde on it and now I remove it once a month, no problems.

The stove keys will bend very easily. And will be difficult to remove. You could have slightly bent it last time you got gas. I've had mine out with no problems hundreds of times. First time I let someone else do it they bent it in the gas cap.