• Can't post after logging to the forum for the first time... Try Again - If you can't post in the forum, sign out of both the membership site and the forum and log in again. Make sure your COG membership is active and your browser allow cookies. If you still can't post, contact the COG IT guy at IT@Concours.org.
  • IF YOU GET 404 ERROR: This may be due to using a link in a post from prior to the web migration. Content was brought over from the old forum as is, but the links may be in error. If the link contains "cog-online.org" it is an old link and will not work.

To part of not to part

canman

Hello All,
I'm a newbie to this forums but I am a long time Kaw owner/fan from ZRXOA.
  I recently picked up a low mile 2016 C14 from a salvage auction and I am either going to find a high mile bike from someone looking to trade in and swap the driveline or part this bike out to get my money back. I intended to repair this bike originally but i didn't know the frame was also damaged until I pulled all the fairings. I always wanted a Connie but never had the money when the opportunities came up so I am hoping to low buck it with some effort if possible.
From what I have read it looks like I need a 2010 or newer bike to be compatible. Is this correct or will an 08,09 also work?

What are the specifics of the frame damage? I have ridden many a mile on bikes with "totaled" frames from an insurance adjuster for merely cosmetic or repairable damage. That's just me. I was on the ZRXOA for a while, had a 2003 1200 that I bought totaled with a bent frame. Made a straightening jig and got it back to within 1 degree...as good or better than factory spec of 2 degrees. Put 1000 miles on it then sold it to a friend.

So I think 08 and 09 are different enough in many respects to not cross directly over, a minor change in 2015 but you should be compatible up to current. Send pics!!