• Can't post after logging to the forum for the first time... Try Again - If you can't post in the forum, sign out of both the membership site and the forum and log in again. Make sure your COG membership is active and your browser allow cookies. If you still can't post, contact the COG IT guy at IT@Concours.org.
  • IF YOU GET 404 ERROR: This may be due to using a link in a post from prior to the web migration. Content was brought over from the old forum as is, but the links may be in error. If the link contains "cog-online.org" it is an old link and will not work.

Battery Connections

motospec

I know you have all read stories about “check and/or clean battery and ground terminals”. I have been a professional motorcycle mechanic for almost fifty years. Today riding my 2012 with a good riding friend on his 2008 I stopped for gasoline and my friend stopped with me. He turned his 2008 off (he needed no gas) and when he pushed the key down to restart there was no click, no LCD, nothing!!! I went simplest first and changed the FOB battery and nothing. I then pulled the covers for the battery and slid it out. I first disconnected the negative from the frame and put a 10mm wrench on the positive bolt (the bolt and terminal were perfectly clean) to check tightness and at the first movement I thought it may not be tight enough. I backed off and retightened all the perfectly clean positive and negative bolts on the terminals and pressed the key and everything was restored electrically. My point in posting this after reading so many posts about this is that they can all look PERFECT and STILL have an incomplete connection. I will clean and wire brush all of them later. Thanks for listening.

It's may have been the stuck KIPASS activation switch under the key as happens occàsionally on that model, for which the K rock term was invented. Repeated pressing of the key may have freed it up un this occasion.