• Can't post after logging to the forum for the first time... Try Again - If you can't post in the forum, sign out of both the membership site and the forum and log in again. Make sure your COG membership is active and your browser allow cookies. If you still can't post, contact the COG IT guy at IT@Concours.org.
  • IF YOU GET 404 ERROR: This may be due to using a link in a post from prior to the web migration. Content was brought over from the old forum as is, but the links may be in error. If the link contains "cog-online.org" it is an old link and will not work.

Big ride and questions from new member

scarlson

Big Wheel
Last month I took the 03 Connie in for an oil Change and major service which should have set me back about $600-700 then they said my cams were pitted and needed to be replaced. After $1500 and having the bike not run because they initially installed the new cams 181 degrees off she runs fine but I'm riding an 09 14 ABS now. I started riding late at 52 because I would have killed myself when I was younger so I I had a really step learning curve on the old Connie riding her with heavy emphasis on the "Sport" side and finding out a lot about my and the bikes limits. After couple of years staying upright I decided it was time to upgrade to the Concours 14 ABS I had been lusting for since they started appearing in the mags. My 09 had 2000 miles when I got in August and now she has almost 10,000 after a trip across the top of the country out to the Great Lakes and Chicago and back through Colorado and the Rockies to Seattle. I have some questions and some comments if you have read this far. First I absolutely love the bike. I can't imagine a more fun way to get across a few thousand miles of empty secondary roads. The acceleration is breathtaking and fully loaded with my 200 pounds in the seat she will stop in less than 2 seconds from 60 MPH. That being said, what about the downside issues that I am determined to correct because this bike is too muc