• Can't post after logging to the forum for the first time... Try Again - If you can't post in the forum, sign out of both the membership site and the forum and log in again. Make sure your COG membership is active and your browser allow cookies. If you still can't post, contact the COG IT guy at IT@Concours.org.
  • IF YOU GET 404 ERROR: This may be due to using a link in a post from prior to the web migration. Content was brought over from the old forum as is, but the links may be in error. If the link contains "cog-online.org" it is an old link and will not work.

idles but wont rev

dlegge09

Big Wheel
I am new to the concours forum, but have view many times and fout very helpful info.

Problem: 1986 concours (california model) starts and idles perfectly.  I just rebuilt the carbs, did valve overhead.  I paid
special attention to make sure all passages in the carb were clean and carb cleaner flowed through them.  Float levels set
right at bowl part line.  The bike starts easily and idles well but will bogg and nearly die when given 1/2 to full throttle
(sitting on side stand in neutral).  Revs will climb past 4k if throttle rolled on very slowly, but engine will not maintain RPM
past 4k and this seems to me like a fuel starvation issue or ignition timing not advancing.  I've checked the diaphragms but
cannot see any pinholes, but it sure feels like its a vacuum problem.  Fuel seems
to be flowing fine no kinks or restriction in lines.

Can anyone help? 

Could it be electrical/ignition?  I am getting frustrated, not sure what else

Maybe the slides are stuck and the main jet needle isn't being pulled up?
I was able to test each carb individually for proper slide operation using a shop vac to pull air though them when I cleaned mine.

Most likely a carb issue.

Make sure none of the carb boots are leaking.
At idle spray damp start or carb cleaner around the boots and see if the idle changes.