• Can't post after logging to the forum for the first time... Try Again - If you can't post in the forum, sign out of both the membership site and the forum and log in again. Make sure your COG membership is active and your browser allow cookies. If you still can't post, contact the COG IT guy at IT@Concours.org.
  • IF YOU GET 404 ERROR: This may be due to using a link in a post from prior to the web migration. Content was brought over from the old forum as is, but the links may be in error. If the link contains "cog-online.org" it is an old link and will not work.

I'll buy a membership one paycheck after I buy a new antler.

cskrat

Big Wheel
'95 C10 "Zoe" - She picked it from a list of names by smoothing out her idle. Should I be troubled that my bike is sentient enough to talk back to me?

I am completely new to motorcycles and bought a C10 Connie as my first bike. 3000 miles and three months later we're getting along great but the first week was rough.

#1 Left turn from a stop. Too much clutch and fell over. The left saddlebag antler broke.
#2 Right turn from a stop. Too little clutch, stalled and fell over. I Eased her down with no damage.
#3 Emergency stop test at the DMV. Inexperience and rapid weight transfer from accelerate to braking in roughly two car lengths. The left foot peg bracket broke. I ordered a replacement from a Harley shop, the only bike shop near my house that doesn't think a Vespa is big, on the way home.
#4 My house has one of those driveways that's just two concrete strips perfectly spaced for car or truck tires and really good at catching the back wheel of a Connie. She went over on the right side; my roommate cushioned her fall and got a leg burn for his trouble.
#5 Oddly placed dirt pile in a parallel parking space. The front brake rotor hit its thick spot and locked on the dirt. The right mirror rattles a little more than it used to.