• Can't post after logging to the forum for the first time... Try Again - If you can't post in the forum, sign out of both the membership site and the forum and log in again. Make sure your COG membership is active and your browser allow cookies. If you still can't post, contact the COG IT guy at IT@Concours.org.
  • IF YOU GET 404 ERROR: This may be due to using a link in a post from prior to the web migration. Content was brought over from the old forum as is, but the links may be in error. If the link contains "cog-online.org" it is an old link and will not work.

Is C-14 too powerful?

jbalko27

Training Wheels
I'm seriously considering joining the ranks of the sport touring community and picking up a 2011 C14 w/ ABS.  I have a slight reservation with it's power.  I've got about 7 years of riding experience.  I've been riding Harley Davidson's for the past 3 years.  Back in 2004 i rode a Honda CBR 600 f4i for a year or so.  I would consider myself an intermediate skilled rider.  Probably a silly concern, but I just don't want to be pulling wheelies or sneeze and accidently grab the throttle and put myself into a bad situation.  I had the same concerns back when I got the CBR and things worked out OK, but this is more than 2X the engine that it had.  I realize the HD's i've been riding have bigger engines than the C14, but there's a big difference.

Just wondering if anyone else had the same reservation and went with it and how its worked out.

Not really,  the C-14 is a very powerful bike this is true, but it's not going to bite you as long as you respect it pretty much like any modern motorcycle.  Plus the 2010+ comes with traction control and ABS which really do help a lot...

If you've been riding for 7 years you will be fine,  yes it's more then your old CBR power wise, but it also weighs more.  The only areas I had to get used to were the weight and the low speed handling (it's a little top heavy but not really that bad)