• Can't post after logging to the forum for the first time... Try Again - If you can't post in the forum, sign out of both the membership site and the forum and log in again. Make sure your COG membership is active and your browser allow cookies. If you still can't post, contact the COG IT guy at IT@Concours.org.
  • IF YOU GET 404 ERROR: This may be due to using a link in a post from prior to the web migration. Content was brought over from the old forum as is, but the links may be in error. If the link contains "cog-online.org" it is an old link and will not work.

Which Jacket to Take

Rob9876

Moped
I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to multi-day trips on the bike.  I'm about to leave for a 3 day trip, and I'm likely to encounter some rain on at least one day.  I have 2 jackets I can take -- please help me decide:

1.  Mesh Jacket -- This jacket is great for over 65 degrees Faren. but has no water-proof layer.  On my trip, even at night the lowest will be around 67 degrees and highs will be mid-80s or above.

2.  Touring Jacket -- This is a 2-3 season jacket with the liner removed.  It is waterproof.  Has zip vents for airflow but still hotter than mesh.

Given the temps, if it wasn't likely to hit rain I'd take the mesh.  I'm tempted to take it anyhow, since if I get wet the temps are still warm (I'll do most travel during the daytime).  However, I wasn't sure if taking the mesh would be a noob mistake?  What do you think?

I'd suggest the touring jacket. Mesh gear will greatly increase your requirement for fluids while the touring jacket will enable you to control the venting. Using the touring jacket, you can create a "micro-environment" that will keep your body temperatures more stable.