• Can't post after logging to the forum for the first time... Try Again - If you can't post in the forum, sign out of both the membership site and the forum and log in again. Make sure your COG membership is active and your browser allow cookies. If you still can't post, contact the COG IT guy at IT@Concours.org.
  • IF YOU GET 404 ERROR: This may be due to using a link in a post from prior to the web migration. Content was brought over from the old forum as is, but the links may be in error. If the link contains "cog-online.org" it is an old link and will not work.

A tale of two drops

Thud300

Well, since I got my NUMBAH, guess it's time to fess up. My C10 has lost twice to gravity under my otherwise careful and caring ownership.

The first drop occurred on the first day after she got her plate. Myself being the type  that can't stand delayed gratification, I rode my new-to-me Concours proudly to work, and parked it in the same spot where I was parking my Kaw 454 LTD, a low seated bike half the size and weight of the Connie. That spot is a tight squeeze, making a tight, paddling 180 degree left turn between a gazebo and a wall and a concrete ramp, to get to the well protected parking spot. Most of the guys who ride will park somewhere around this gazebo, which is kind of a break/smoking area.

So that first day, I took it for a lunch ride, and upon my return, attempted to get into the same spot. After all, I had parked there many times on the 454 in my illustrious three month riding career... so, get between the gazebo on my left and a wall on my right... start paddling and making the nearly full lock left turn... and that's when forces combined that I wasn't ready for....