• Can't post after logging to the forum for the first time... Try Again - If you can't post in the forum, sign out of both the membership site and the forum and log in again. Make sure your COG membership is active and your browser allow cookies. If you still can't post, contact the COG IT guy at IT@Concours.org.
  • IF YOU GET 404 ERROR: This may be due to using a link in a post from prior to the web migration. Content was brought over from the old forum as is, but the links may be in error. If the link contains "cog-online.org" it is an old link and will not work.

Adding heated gera to my C14

bobpetit

Has anyone bought and connected a heated jacket to your C-14. My wife and I bought the Tour Master heated jackets and when I looked at the C14 manual, it says you can only connect a maximum of 70W to the bike or you will discharge the battery. The jackets each draw 76watts. Is that a misprint in the manual or is that true. Anyone know the real deal. I'm no electrician.

Wiser people than I will reply to this, but after a little research I discovered that the 70W maximum is for the dash outlet, not the bike. There's more juice than that available, but whether it's enough to run both liners simultaneously w/o draining the battery I don't know.

I believe the C-14 has 580 watts max output. So you shouldn't have any issues with wiring in your electrics. AKA "2linby" That's 2-lin-by folks! Northwest Area Director COG #5539 AMA #927779 IBA #15034 TEAM OREGON MC Instructor http://community.webshots.com/user/2linby http://tinyurl.com/njas8 (IBA BunBurner Gold Trip) http://tinyurl.com/lwelx (Alaska trip)

I know this was discussed xxx but was it ever determined what the total was and what was available in excess of what the bike needs ?