• Can't post after logging to the forum for the first time... Try Again - If you can't post in the forum, sign out of both the membership site and the forum and log in again. Make sure your COG membership is active and your browser allow cookies. If you still can't post, contact the COG IT guy at IT@Concours.org.
  • IF YOU GET 404 ERROR: This may be due to using a link in a post from prior to the web migration. Content was brought over from the old forum as is, but the links may be in error. If the link contains "cog-online.org" it is an old link and will not work.

Buying a Connie with low miles or medium miles does it matter?

What's the concenses about buying a 2 or 3 year old Connie with say 3,000 or 6500 miles or one that has 21,000 miles?  I am no mechanic So I throw this question out to the group.

Does a low mile bike have the tendency to have more issues since it hasn't been used that much?  I remember my Saab mechanic telling me he bought a very low milage car and had multitude of problems since it sat so long.  Could the bike be the same?

I have a 2008 which I bougfht last August I think it had 21,000 or 22,000 miles can't remember. So this guy really rode his bike (he bought it new)  Now I am realizing that he might have sold it just before the next scheduloed service is coming due.  Is it 26,000 or 30,000 miles?  My understanding it is very expensive. Can it be done by someone else other than the dealer?

Searching craigslists nationally I see a couple of bikes for sale 2009 with very low miliage and about 6 to 800 more than I paid for mine. I bought it for $7,800. So I am a little upset on how I was somewhat nieve and didn't do enough home work before I handed over my money! I guess it's all a learning experience.

Lastly, does anyone know the life span of this engine?  Honda has a reputation for a bullit proof engine with that Nighthawk. How about the Kawasaki.