• Can't post after logging to the forum for the first time... Try Again - If you can't post in the forum, sign out of both the membership site and the forum and log in again. Make sure your COG membership is active and your browser allow cookies. If you still can't post, contact the COG IT guy at IT@Concours.org.
  • IF YOU GET 404 ERROR: This may be due to using a link in a post from prior to the web migration. Content was brought over from the old forum as is, but the links may be in error. If the link contains "cog-online.org" it is an old link and will not work.

Helmet Safety factors

bikrbill64

I can't figure out which category to put this post under. So I'll try this one.  I have an opinion about helmet choice, but I'd like to know what others think. I have always heard, if you have a $25 head then buy a $25 helmet. I get it.  You get what you pay for.  I've been riding for almost 30 years with only a few years here and there that I didn't own and regularly ride a bike.  I've always worn a helmet and always will.  I don't cut corners when it comes to protective equipment. But I am looking for a new helmet. I own a couple of helmets. All are DOT approved.  I bought a HJC a few years ago for about $125. It's a decent helmet but it doesn't match my blue C14. I want to buy another one and I have yet to find a helmet that is just one color that matches my bike. I was going to get another HJC, probably a modular design. When I started looking, I saw prices ranging from $125 to $$$$ Mucho Dinero. I saw a few helmets at a local shop costing almost $1000.  I know everyone has an opinion and I welcome your words of wisdom. I see no reason to pay allot of money, unless the higher the cost the greater the safety factor. So is there a difference in safety factor? Or should all that matters be that the helmet meets DOT standard.  I shouldn't need to ask that question. But I'm curious what others think.  How much difference does it make purely in the safety factor of the h