• Can't post after logging to the forum for the first time... Try Again - If you can't post in the forum, sign out of both the membership site and the forum and log in again. Make sure your COG membership is active and your browser allow cookies. If you still can't post, contact the COG IT guy at IT@Concours.org.
  • IF YOU GET 404 ERROR: This may be due to using a link in a post from prior to the web migration. Content was brought over from the old forum as is, but the links may be in error. If the link contains "cog-online.org" it is an old link and will not work.

Im Chris Harris and I'm New to touring

chris9622

Hey everyone, my name is Chris Harris and I live in Birmingham Alabama. I just bought a 2009 abs concours. I rode small ninjas as a teenager, then nothing til now. I'm 52 and I know nothing about touring. I'm planning some 6 hour daily trips to see how much I like it. If that goes well I'm going to plan for coast to coast in August.

I have tons of questions. 2 main topics.

Clothing needed for trip:
I have no clue what's good or junk

I want to add an electronic cruise control to my bike (if possible).
Again I need your opinions on what's good or bad.
Thanks in advance.