• Can't post after logging to the forum for the first time... Try Again - If you can't post in the forum, sign out of both the membership site and the forum and log in again. Make sure your COG membership is active and your browser allow cookies. If you still can't post, contact the COG IT guy at IT@Concours.org.
  • IF YOU GET 404 ERROR: This may be due to using a link in a post from prior to the web migration. Content was brought over from the old forum as is, but the links may be in error. If the link contains "cog-online.org" it is an old link and will not work.

Question....I know ear plugs are a good thing

coolrogue1

Training Wheels
I must admit I started riding bikes way before anyone ever thought of wearing earplugs...But after 40 plus years riding bikes and a stint in the Navy working around jet aircraft I want to keep what hearing I have left.  I have heard from multiple sources that the "foam" earplugs aren't good for all day riding, they get painful after a couple of hours.  So what do you use?  Are custom molded earplugs worth the expense?

coolrogue1 said:
I have heard from multiple sources that the "foam" earplugs aren't good for all day riding, they get painful after a couple of hours.  So what do you use?  Are custom molded earplugs worth the expense?

Your mileage may vary, of course, but I have been using 3M Classic foam earplugs (the yellow cylindrical shaped ones) for years and have never had a comfort issue.  Not sure how a soft, expandable piece of foam could become painful, but different strokes for different folks I guess.  I do recommend staying away from those types of foam earplugs with the extremely smooth outer surface like those cone shaped orange ones you see. 

But before I'd drop a bunch of money on custom plugs, I'd give the foam a try.